Dear Artists,

I hope you all are as creative as the last time you had an idea and forgot to execute it because it would mean you getting off your lazy ass. I am an artist too, I indulge in some creativity every 68 days. Yes, I think about a lot of ideas out of which I discuss a few with my other artist friends and we usually spend a few hours planning the execution, after which we make sure to never talk about it again.

But today, it was different. Not only did I have an idea but I also found someone to help me take it forward. What a strange feeling, mostly because as soon as we decided on the plan of action every idea seemed like it wasn’t worthy of all our efforts. And by worthy, I mean it wouldn’t please the thirty followers I have on Instagram. It felt as if we were either trying too hard or too little.

Keeping that in my mind, I cannot help but appreciate all those who have the courage to upload what they create on social media. It is a great deal to focus and be able to create something when there are YouTube videos about turtles having sex to distract you. Today people are not only creating, but also sharing their work with the world, which requires a strong immunization against varying opinions and comments.I understand that, but at the same time, some things truly suck. I am glad that they do because they give me inspiration to work on such posts.

So in this meaningful blog post, we have tried to mimic your work. The pictures below are a sub-standard proof of the same. I hope when you read this you feel that the work done by us resonates to all the people who think dressing up like this automatically qualifies you for an artist. Red lipstick, lots of make up that you learnt to wear from some random YouTube channel (that goes by the name “NaughtyinRed” “RedistheNewBlack” “Howtowearalipstickwithoutfuckingup”), a nose ring and short hair, that’s the updated definition of an artist in the Oxfart dictionary.

When you look at a pretty face, staring at nothingness, don’t the eyes speak to you? Don’t you feel like it’s saying something to your empty self? It’s almost as if the code to appear deep has been cracked.I have a B.A. in Caption Writing and I know how one feels when they look at a black and white photograph depicting an onion’s emotion.

So dear artist like yourself, do not stop, because you fuel the creativity in me, and other jokers like me.

Here are the steps to become like you:

Ingredients:

An overly enthusiastic person, 1 bored flat mate, 1.5 kilograms of expired make up, rustic jewelry, a scarf from your mom’s salwar suit, a decent phone camera, a pinch of pretense, an editing app and a few million make-up tutorials and a thousand hours to kill.

Recipe:

Take your bored flat mate and cover her hopeless face with make up. Be sure to use the darkest shade of lipstick you own, because only then will you be truly bold. Reference a few niche Instagram channels and start clicking. In no photograph should your flat mate be laughing or smiling. The face can depict a poker expression. Make sure to cover all angles, top, down, on the floor. Edit all your photographs using filters, be sure to use monochrome in some of them. Google some meaningful captions. Important point here is to choose those captions that do not relate to the photograph at all. That’s it, you’re all set. YOU are an artist.

Honestly Yours,

People who don’t matter.

One thought on “Lights, Camera, Action, Pretense!

Leave a Reply

